Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (37)

"One Day" Could Have Been So Much Better.......

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 13 September 2012 04:21 (A review of One Day)


A Romantic comedy with grater ambition of being different often calls for disaster. One day avoids falling into that but at the end it leaves you unfulfilled.It Could have been so much better given the interesting premise, instead it preferred to remain very unintuitive in it's core.
It tells the story of Emma & Dexter, how they met on 15th July 1988 and keeps on the same day over the years till 2011. So in short it's a story of 23 15th July spread across the years. I really liked the way it started but slowly the story looses it's grip. The narration is so repetitive and uninspiring that after a while everything seems so boring. But the biggest flaw the film has is the ending. The twist is so uncalled for and the narration still continues there after quite pointlessly.
But the story scores some good points too. Besides being different, the story really spends time to focus onto the demons of Dexter which slowly causes his downfall. The acting is good. Anne Hathaway is really very good as Emma and Jim Sturgess does his part as a lost soul,Rest of the cast fills in quite well. So in a nutshell
One day is a very good effort which was bogged down largely because of shabby direction.
I am going 6 out of 10 for one day, a film which had so much promise but the end result is nothing great.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Avengers...It's Entertaining none the less

Posted : 4 years, 11 months ago on 12 September 2012 03:31 (A review of The Avengers)


Imagine a football team with all the greats in it irrespective of the time frame, no doubt that's too mouth watering and posses great threat to any living opponent at least on paper but in reality the accumulation of 11 stars do not make a great team.

The Avengers seemed to me just like the same. There are so many superheroes but to sum it up it seemed an entertaining but average flick to me. Post Batman begins the genre of superhero flicks have changed it's colour. Nolan has changed the way Superheroes behave on screen and as a result we have got the great films like The Dark night and The Dark Knight Rises. The Avengers do not imply to take that road of complexity rather it does best what it intends to do... to entertain.

The actions are breathtaking, there are so many cool one liners and also it's funny. The cast is good and even though the stars share lesser screen time than they normally do, they are super cool. But where is the story. The set up and the story screen seemed too childish to me and in the end it seemed like I am watching some superkids shooting villains in an ultra modern video game. Loki was good as an villain but never did he looked that menacing.

So to sum it all, given the huge success and rating I had expected a lot and to be honest it fell short of my expectations. It's no where near the bench mark set by the Batman movies rather it dwells on the predictable Super hero concepts. But still it's a decent film none the less and full of entertainment as an action film.

I am going 7 out of 10 for The Avengers. The biggest and the best collection of Stars did won us the game but never were they invincible as they were supposed to be...


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Dark Knight Rises......

Posted : 5 years, 1 month ago on 22 July 2012 04:40 (A review of The Dark Knight Rises)


Surely the Dark night has risen. Not the Knight we were waiting for so long but the sad incident in Colorado really dampened the spirit the trilogy was supposed to generate. Truly he is the hero we all need but not deserve. Nothing and absolutely nothing can justify the mindless violence that was upon those innocent viewers. May Justice be served for the departed.



Now for the Legend, It’s been 7 years since it is in the ingenious hand of the Great Nolan Brothers especially the elder one Christopher Nolan. With Batman Begin he gave us the Real Batman not only the Gotham city deserves but the whole world needed.

Then Came the Dark Knight in 2008 which to me is the best super hero movie ever to be made. It not only humiliated the Academy (They had to Increase Best film nomination) but changed the tone of all the superhero movies released thereafter.



Now the Dark Knight rises again after 4 years with immense burden of the predecessor’s success and without its key member (The Joker) and some rise it is been. People may try to feel disappointed by comparing it to The Dark Knight but to me it is the most satisfying conclusion of the epic trilogy of the century.



Ben is good. He is menacing intelligent and truly a monster but he really lacks the cunningness of the Joker. Besides, the Twist at the end literally left him only as a Mercenary. That is the only area where TDNR drags a little compared to his predecessor but apart from that it is truly an amazing experience to watch the Master Conclude his epic trilogy.



The film is backed up by a superb script, some brilliant acting and breath taking action.Not to forget the Dialogue, the witty one liners are bound to generate some smile. I guess there are enough of take homes for everyone.

I won’t give away the story here, please rush to the theatres and feel it. You are not going to get him back. Long live Batman, he has been providing some great entertainment in the last 7 Years. Now I can’t really wait to see Nolan putting his hand into something different.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mr. Nobody

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 9 March 2011 07:24 (A review of Mr. Nobody)

As Long As We Don't Choose, Everything Remains Possible



Mr. Nobody is a 2009 film directed by Jaco Van Dormael who took thirteen years to come up with this and the hard work clearly shows. It is one of those mind fuck cinema which we rarely get to watch. Thirty minutes into it and I lost the track of what's real and what's surreal. It went on with it's uneven plot ends and every time the story takes a turn it becomes even more beautiful.


It's a story of Neo (No body) who is recounting his life story to a reporter. He is less than clear, often thinking that he is only thirty-four years of age. But his story becomes more confusing after he does focus on the fact of his current age. He takes us down memory lane at three primary points in his life: at age nine (when his parents get divorced), age fifteen and age thirty-four. The confusing aspect of the story is that he tells of alternate life paths, often changing course of the story with the flick of a decision at each of those ages.



The multilayered story holds itself till the end and continues to fascinate besides it is so well shot that nothing seems impossible. Every shot seems well rehearsed and so well co ordinated. The cast is adorable. Jared Leto outshines himself in a role of a life time and above all the direction is mind blowing. The starting remains my personal favourite though.



In totality it's something you shouldn't miss. Forget your popcorn for a couple of hours and enjoy the spectacle.




0 comments, Reply to this entry

Stardust

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 3 March 2011 05:11 (A review of Stardust)


How many times does it happen that we pick up an ordinary stone and it becomes a glittering gold! Well not quite often, but I just felt the same way once I was through with Stardust.

Stardust a Matthew Vaughn directed Fantasy, has its heart in the very right place. Coupled with a very good story and an impeccable star cast this star outshines itself.

The director himself shows enough promises that is even more prominent in his latest Kick Ass.

The special effects are just about rightly done, the lead are truely adorable and light humour here and there keeps the narrative very interesting. The story itself keeps us invested in so many ways that all of a sudden the quest becomes our own voyage, afterall we are all after our own stardust, won't we?


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Dorian Gray

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 28 February 2011 07:46 (A review of Dorian Gray)


"Pleasure is very different from happiness."
Dorian Gray a remake from the 1970 flick with the same name has a great premise and an interesting plot to keep you engaged to some extent, but the shoddy screenplay gives it away or should I say throws it away.

Its about the price a guy pays for the eternity of youth as he barts his soul to his portrait. As he transform from a decent well mannered boy to a corrupt and evil man(?) his decaying and rotten soul starts to show up in his portrait.

The film has its share of moments but misses serious logic behind every move the protagonists take and besides the script took a very simplistic turn when it was due for more.

The film has been very well shot, the acting is good. But at the end of it we just get an average one when the promises were much higher.

"Something are more precious because they dont last"


0 comments, Reply to this entry

True Grit review

Posted : 6 years, 5 months ago on 27 February 2011 04:16 (A review of True Grit)


It could have been a breaking news that at last the Coen brothers have come up with something that sans any shocking twists in it and surprisingly that does not make it any less attractive. Actually it is quite an enjoyable ride. The acting has been very good and the direction very competent. It may not be among the best from the director duo, but still its very good.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev 1 2 3 4Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block